After the court has decided on the penalties that a DUI offender must take, it is now time to make up for the offense and face the consequences. Most people from Utah that have been charged with DUI are found guilty. Even when you lose or win your case, it is best if you keep in contact with your Utah DUI attorney so you will still have access to someone who knows the proceedings of your case.
A reliable Utah DUI attorney also knows how to bargain for alcoholism treatments and education programs that cost relatively lower so make sure to ask for their help before entering a treatment facility. Behaving considerably during probation and accepting the punishments are just some ways on how to help your case from having even worse records. Here are the penalisations that follow after an offender is declared guilty of the DUI charge.
Time Behind Bars
First-time offenders face jail sentence of 48 hours (2 days) which can also go up to 180 days depending on the circumstances. There are judges who demand that the convicted driver do obligatory community work for 48 hours as well.
Second DUI offense that is committed within ten years after the first arrest results to jail time of not less than 240 hours (10 days) to 180 days depending on the circumstances.
Third DUI offense in the state of Utah requires the convicted person to serve jail time for no less than 1,500 hours and a license suspension of two years. The court may also decide on extended jail time if your case is punishable of graver penalties.
Under Utah law, drivers who are convicted of DUI charges must undergo screening or an assessment. Screenings are done to determine if the convicted person has alcohol or substance abuse problems which needed more medical assessment. An assessment is performed to determine the requirements for the treatment. The process includes gathering of a person’s personal information such as social roles and the status of his or her physical, emotional and mental health.
Aside from being sentenced to jail and suspended license, Utah obliges the convicted drivers to substance abuse treatments. If the screening and assessment show information that certifies the offender’s need for treatment, he or she must comply to complete the penalties. Judges also allow home confinement given that the offender is continuously monitored.
The convicted driver can ask for the help of his or her Utah DUI attorney when shelling out expensive fees for treatment. All the other fees required for the clinical procedures must be shouldered by the convicted driver.
A DUI offender is also entitled to perform community works in as much time as his or her jail time. Community service is referred to as volunteer works that you do to help non-profit organizations. There are different non-profit orgs that benefit from community works such as homeless shelters, blood banks, animal rescue groups, and service dog associations. You may also perform community service in other institutions within the district like landfills, animal shelters, cemeteries and parks.
Make sure that you have all the necessary information needed when performing community works to serve as a confirmation of your service. List down the time and date of your community work and have it signed by the person supervising you. You can also get the name and contact information of fellow volunteers who are monitoring your work.
Don’t put wrong information on your community record just to show the court that you are doing your job. Falsification of data, even in community service, might result to bigger punishments and extended jail time. Show to the court that you are willing to make up for your offense and remember to always consult to your Utah DUI attorney for progress concerning your case.